Turmeric Dreams

IMG_5506As a college student it is easy to forget about sleep. We work hard in classes all day, participate in extra-curricular activities and clubs in the afternoon, and then toil away at schoolwork all night. When are we expected to sleep?! As a child I struggled with periods of insomnia and sleep discomfort, and recently these instances have become common again. Lack of sleep affects everyone in different ways, but I find that is not only stresses my physical body and mind, but it wears down my memory and flattens my mood. I complained about this to my mom, and she immediately sent me a jar of turmeric powder and instructions about how to make a simple drink to consume before bed that would soothe my mind into sleep.

So what is turmeric? This bright yellow powder is an ancient spice, used especially in Ayurvedic medicine, with a variety of health benefits. Turmeric has been known to fight off a number of cancers, promote peaceful sleep, soothe tendons and muscles, and has overall powerful anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties. It has even been known to increase general mood by stimulating serotonin and dopamine levels. Overall, it seems that we should take advantage of this brilliant little spice.

The Recipe:

IMG_5498Kindly ask a parent (or relative, friend, etc.) to send you a container of pure turmeric powder. My mom sent it in a small mason jar for ease of transportation. You can also go to your local health foods store, for most of them have a spice selection that will include turmeric. Make sure that the spice is of high quality and from a source that you trust.

About 30 minutes before sleep, take about 1 cup of non-dairy milk (I use plain soy milk because that is what I have available) and mix in 1/2-1 tsp. of turmeric powder. Stir well and microwave until warm.

Warning: Turmeric stains!

 

 

Leave a comment