Nutty Quinoa Cookie Balls

While looking through recipes for bliss balls (sweet energy balls usually containing dates and other healthy alternatives), I found that most of them called for medjool dates, something that I don’t have access to here at school. However, I decided to get creative and came up with my own delicious and protein-packed bliss ball.

The Recipe:

IMG_6374Begin by gathering ingredients: about 2 cups plain cooked quinoa, 3-4 tbsp. almond butter, a few handfuls mixed nuts and dried fruit (I used Back to Nature’s “Harvest Blend” which included: raisins, almonds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, dried apricots, and pecans), small handful chia seeds, generous dash of cinnamon, and a half cup baby chocolate chips. I got the quinoa, cinnamon, and chocolate chips from my dining hall’s buffet and the rest from my school’s convenience store. Like any of my recipes, the amounts are only a suggestion, and I can’t promise that they’re perfect since I have no measuring utensils 🙂 Chop the nuts and dried fruit coarsely, although try and get them as fine as you can (or as fine as patience allows). Combine all the ingredients and use your hands to kneed it into a lumpy dough, IMG_6380making sure that the almond butter is evenly distributed since it acts as the glue to hold the balls together. The amount of almond butter especially may need to be altered, and I realized after making the balls that mine may have been better if I had added a bit more. Anyway, shape into little balls and put into the fridge or freezer for at least an hour to set.

Honestly, the most problem ingredient was the chocolate chips, and you can always nix them all together (the dough still tastes fine without them). But I had to include them because I love chocolate too much..You could also try freezing the balls and then dipping them in chocolate. And like I always say, try other things too! Including dried fruit is nice because they acted as a natural sweetener, but if you have no access to them you could always add a little maple syrup or honey and extra nuts. Things like cocoa powder and shaved coconut would also be great, just explore your options! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

