Review: Chunky Monkey Ice Cream

IMG_6392I bet you’ve heard that Ben and Jerry’s recently came out with four non-dairy ice cream flavors! Yippee! I recently got a hold of the non-dairy Chunky Monkey flavor, a banana ice cream with chocolate chunks and walnuts pieces. Sounds good, right? It is! The ice cream base is very rich in it’s banana flavor, and the walnuts add a nice crunch. They also use almond milk, which makes the texture spot on. Would I say it’s my favorite ice cream? Probably not. To be honest, if I’m going to indulge, I’d opt for a coconut base ice cream and one that is much lower in sugar. While the B&J’s is iconic, it certainly contains more “crap” so to speak as far as ingredients. But, it is a great step forward in the industry, and I hope to try all the other flavors soon.

This is a picture of my deconstructed banana split 🙂 My secret to not overeating ice cream is to put fruit in the bottom of my bowl first to fill up space, leaving less room for the ice cream on top. In this case I sliced a banana and topped it off with extra walnuts. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

